A Doula with H.E.A.R.T.

iamaheartdoula

I’ve never officially certified with any doula organization. I’ve taken multiple and advanced doula trainings, gleaned wisdom, and continue to serve my clients faithfully and professionally. I’ve moved to running Time to Be Born as a business and less like a hobby and but wanted to keep the soul and spirit of service central to what I do – I don’t think you can be a doula without an emotional connection with your clients. I found the perfect childbirth education organization for me, but kept looking for something that resonated with my doula self.

Then, last week, I found a “manifesto” that is completely aligned with my goals, my business philosophy and my doula work: The H.E.A.R.T. Doula Pledge. This pledge was written by a birth business coach and was just the lift I needed to continue on this (sometimes) lonely birth path. This pledge articulated so clearly the ways I really want to run my business, perform my services and treat my clients and colleagues in the birth field. I immediately joined the H.E.A.R.T. Doula Directory and agreed to intentionally practice as a doula with H.E.A.R.T. from here on out.

It’s easy to just do this work as a business, but I believe that the words “cutthroat” and “competitive” have no real place in the birth world. Education, then support and then peace for the journey – that’s what being a doula means to me. The fee I receive for my services – while important – is truly secondary. You should be encouraged by this pledge and seek out other doulas with H.E.A.R.T. in your area. Because once doulas stand together, we’ll never want to stand alone again!

Give me your thoughts!

